The Radio Authority will cease to exist on 29 December 2003 and its duties will be assumed by Ofcom, the Office of Communications. Ofcom is the new communications sector regulator and will have wide-ranging responsibilities when it assumes its powers at the end of 2003. Ofcom inherits the duties of the five existing regulators it replaces: the Broadcasting Standards Commission (BSC), the Independent Television Commission (ITC), Oftel, the Radio Authority and the Radiocommunications Agency.

As part of the transition process the material on the Radio Authority website is being transferred to the Ofcom website. To view material previously on the Radio Authority website please click on the link below.